About

By the painter and sculptor Andrée Marcoux

BIOGRAPHY

Painting, sculpture in bronze, cement and steel, ink, scratchboard…, several mediums interest me, always looking for a new challenge. Based in Estrie, Quebec, professional artist for several years already. A graduate of Laval University in Quebec in visual arts, I always try to develop my work, my passion.

My inspiration, animals in general, horses in particular: “Animals and their well-being are very important to me. I want to educate the public by a pose, a look, to make them love to better respect them. It's my way of paying homage to these sentient, indispensable beings who have so much to teach us. "

Andrée Marcoux artiste peintre et sculpteure Québec Canada
Untitled-1.png
Andrée Marcoux artiste peintre et sculpteure Québec Canada

I first made landscapes and then devoted myself to animal painting, which has become my specialty over time. I am not looking for the perfection of the subject by the detail, but more the emotion. As much my painting can be realistic and worked for weeks, I like to let myself go in the movement on large formats. Classic and whimsical painting, it's a balance that suits me.

Horses are my first source of inspiration

Seeing a horse running has always filled me with emotion. All that force and grace at once charms me. Its nobility competes with the greatest of kings, its grace and lightness, with that of birds, the gentleness of its expression, is incomparable...  We owe it respect and recognition, without it, the history of humanity would not be what it is. It acted with heart throughout the centuries at the mercy of man's demands, often at worst, despite itself...

À propos

De l'artiste peintre et sculpteure Andrée Marcoux

BIOGRAPHIE

Représentée par :

Galerie Lise Leclerc   https://liseleclerc.com

Galerie Danny Perkins, Danville Qc.

Galerie Robert Johnson, Magog, Qc.

Peinture, sculpture de bronze, de ciment et acier, encre, scratchboard…, plusieurs médiums m’intéressent, toujours à la recherche d’un nouveau défis..  Installée en Estrie au Québec, artiste professionnelle depuis plusieurs années déjà.  Diplômée de l’Université Laval de Québec en arts visuels,  je cherche toujours à faire évoluer mon travail, ma passion. 

Mon inspiration, la nature, les animaux en général, les chevaux en particulier : « Les animaux et leur bien être m’importent énormément. Je souhaite sensibiliser le public par une pose, un regard, les faire aimer pour mieux les respecter. C’est ma façon de rendre hommage à ces êtres sensibles, indispensables, qui ont tant à nous apprendre. »

Andrée Marcoux artiste peintre et sculpteure Québec Canada
Andrée Marcoux artiste peintre et sculpteure Québec Canada
Untitled-1.png

J’ai d’abord fait du paysage pour ensuite m’adonner à la peinture animalière, devenue ma spécialité au fil du temps. Je ne recherche pas  la perfection du sujet par le détail, mais davantage l’émotion.  Autant ma peinture peut être réaliste et travaillée pendant des semaines, autant j’aime me laisser aller dans le mouvement sur de grands formats. Peinture classique et fantaisiste, c’est un équilibre qui me convient.

Les chevaux sont ma première source d’inspiration 

‘’Voir un cheval courir m'a toujours remplie d'émotion.  Toute cette force et cette grâce à la fois, me séduisent. Sa noblesse fait compétition au plus grand des rois, sa grâce et sa légèreté, à celle des oiseaux, la douceur de son regard, n'a nulle comparaison...Nous lui devons respect et reconnaissance, sans lui, l'histoire de l'humanité ne serait pas ce qu'elle est.  Il a agi avec cœur à travers les siècles au gré des demandes de l'homme , souvent aux pires, malgré lui...’’  A. Marcoux